• BeatNet

Empfehlung: MARQUETTE – Into The Wild

MARQUETTE - Into The Wild

Studio Album, released in August 2020

This is the newest release in the PPR series of “introducing accomplished german music artists to a wider audience”.

Although Markus Roth is by no means a new or unknown name in his native prog scene. As keyboard player and occasional guitarist he is a member of not one, but two bands, both very different in style: Horizontal Ascension (melodic prog/rock) and Force of Progress (instrumental prog/metal/jazz fusion).With his third outfit MARQUETTE, he combines the styles of the other two bands, giving a harder edge to the tracks featuring vocals and reducing the number of notes played in the instrumental tunes, thus making Marquette more accessible to a “mainstream” prog audience. While the 2015 debut “Human Reparation” was a two-man project with a number of guests, INTO THE WILD has become more of a group effort, with Markus Roth still composing all the songs, but vocalist Maurizio Menendez providing lyrics.

INTO THE WILD was inspired by the life of Christopher McCandless, who travelled through the US with minimal equipment and no money, in a quest to become one with nature, but found a tragic death in the Alaskan wilderness. Story and music stand as „an example of the consistent search for oneself, for one’s own identity“ (Markus Roth).

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. No Answer (6:53)
2. Seven Doors (14:02)
3. Criminal Kind (3:47)
4. Alexander Supertramp (6:13)
5. Sensuality (5:24)
6. Portrait of Men (3:36)
7. Poisoned Homeland (4:40)
8. Into the wild (19:10)

Lineup / Musicians

Guitar and bass: Sebastian Schleicher
Guitar: Reiner Wendland (RIP my friend)
Drums: Dennis Degen
Vocals and lyrics: Maurizio Menendez
Sax on „Seven Doors“: Robin Mock
Trumpet on „Into the wild“: Art Lip
Keyboard and composition: Markus Roth

MARQUETTE – Into The Wild